The eighth volume of the Brown Acid series, which collects rare stoner-rock and proto-metal songs from the '60s and '70s, is due in April, but we have a sneak peek into one of the tracks right now.

You can listen to Luke and the Apostles' "Not Far Off" below.

Brown Acid: The Eighth Trip will be released on April 20, and includes 10 songs by various artists who never quite made it out of their local markets. Still, as with songs found on other volumes in the Brown Acid series, the tracks here were part of a defining movement of hard rock music that was rooted in '60s garage rock and eventually presaged '70s metal.

Luke and the Apostles are one of the better known bands included in the new volume. They formed in Toronto in the mid '60s and were signed to Elektra Records at one point. But bad circumstances eventually led to the songs they recorded for the label to be shelved. They still had momentum going into the '70s, opening for the Grateful Dead and snagging interest from big-time managers and promoters Bill Graham and Albert Grossman.

The group eventually splintered and then reformed with a revised lineup in 1970. "Not Far Off" comes from that period – the B-side Luke and the Apostles' single "You Make Me High," which managed to hit the Canadian charts. Three of the original members reunited in 2013 and finally released their first album in 2017.

"Not Far Off" is a great slice of hard rock from the era, all distorted guitars trying to wrangle the blues roots that are buried deep in the sludge. It's a definite highlight of Brown Acid: The Eighth Trip. You can see the track listing for the album below.

The set was put together by Lance Barresi, co-owner of Permanent Records, and Daniel Hall of RidingEasy Records. "I essentially go through hell and high water just to find these records," Barresi said. "Once I find a record worthy of tracking, I begin the extremely arduous process of contacting the band members and encouraging them to take part. ... When all of the bands and labels haven't existed for 30-40 years or more, tracking down the creators gives all of these tunes a real second chance at success."

Barresi said more is to come. "There's a long list of songs that we'd love to include," he noted, "but we just can't track the bands down. I like the idea that Brown Acid is getting so much attention, so people might reach out to us."

Various Artists, 'Brown Acid: The Eighth Trip' Track Listing
1. Attack, "School Daze"
2. White Rock, "Please Don't Run Away"
3. Riverside, "Wayfarer"
4. Luke and the Apostles, "Not Far Off"
5. Tourists, "I Need My Music"
6. Bartos Brothers Band, "Gambler"
7. Inside Experience, "Tales of the Brave Ulysses"
8. Karma, "New Mexico"
9. Moloch, "Cocaine Katy"
10. Grump, "Heartbreak Hotel"

More From KLUB Tejano 106.9